A Piece of Me (spoken word)

A Piece of Me

Sometimes it feels
Like everyone wants a piece of me
Shaken like a dog’s bone
Knawed raw
A dried up orange
Stale and weary
I have no more to give
Squeeze out the last drops
Never enough
Never satisfied
A never ending game of ping pong
And I’m the ball
Just want to be alone
Run away with butterflies
On a Spring morning

Why must I always be on call?
Why must I be the referee?
Then in the blame game
It is my name
On the card
Family dynamics
Too dynamic for me
I want a piece of me
For myself

The weight of needs is crushing
I’m not a one-stop-shop
Mediate, negotiate
Consulate, try not to retaliate,
Like a carton under tyre
Too high a
Pressure
Makes me pop
And then you say
What’s up
With you?
You’re wound too tight
You have a problem
Yeah I do
It’s you

© Janey Colbourne 2017

4 thoughts on “A Piece of Me (spoken word)

Leave a Reply

