Thistle Fierce and Wild. My Poem Grows Some Music.

 

Photo © Janey Colbourne 2015

One of the poems I wrote for my first poetry collection ‘See With Heart‘ was in homage to a large thistle that decided to grow between the wall of my house and the yard. She was truly huge, tall with a very fat stem and long, sharp spikes. I was struck by the vital power of this plant, growing in such an apparently inhospitable place. I took a photo and wrote the poem. Recently I have been songwriting and this is a poem I decided to make into a piece of music. It’s a breakbeat tune with punk vocals, which I felt was suited to the strong spiky energy of the mighty thistle. If you’d like to have a listen here’s the YouTube link. Below is the cover design for the song.

Image by Janey Colbourne using PicsArt

Here’s the original poem:

Thistle

Thistle fierce and wild
Strong you grow
And spiky
What vital power
Too sharp to grasp
Roots buried deep
No soil to see
From patio and wall
You thrust
I must
In truth
Honour
Your mighty conquest

©Janey Colbourne 2015

If you enjoy my creations please consider supporting my work by buying one of my poetry books available at very reasonable prices from Amazon or iBooks. Thank you.

A screenshot from the iBooks version of ‘See With Heart’

All content © Janey Colbourne

 

2 thoughts on “Thistle Fierce and Wild. My Poem Grows Some Music.

Leave a Reply

